Indiana State Sycamores men’s basketball

The Indiana State Sycamores basketball is the NCAA Division I men’s basketball Schedule of Indiana State University at Terre Haute.

They compete in the Missouri Valley Conference. The group played in 2011 at the NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Tournament.
The Sycamores’ time was 1896, which makes them the earliest basketball team from the NCAA along with Minnesota Bucknell and Washington the records from 1896 to 1899 longer exist. The Sycamores boast two College Players of the Year, 14 All-Americans, 39 scorers along with 1,496 victories. Their victory count puts them . [4][5]
In addition, the Sycamores have 26 Post-Season Appearances (7 NCAA, 4 NIT, 1 CBI, 1 CIT, 12 NAIA and the 1936 Olympic Trials) with 5 National Championship Appearances (two NCAA, 3 NAIA). Seven Sycamores were members of this 1951 Pan-American Games Gold Medal-winning team. The most memorable season of the Sycamore was 1978–79, when star Larry Bird led an undefeated team to its first-ever NCAA Championship appearance, as well as the UPI National title. It ended the season with a record of 33 — 1; and lost the title game compared to the Magic Johnson-led Michigan State group. This is the deepest run by a first-time participant at the Division I championship, and one of just three times a first-time team has progressed so far as the Final Four (UNCC in 1977 and Georgia in 1983). They wouldn’t have yet another postseason appearance until 2000.
The Sycamores were the National Runner-Up in the NCAA College Division (now Div II) in 1968; they won the NAIA National Championship in 1950, had NAIA Finals appearances in 1946 & 1948 and NAIA National Semifinals appearances in 1949 & 1953. The Sycamores were led Duane Klueh by All-Americans, Dick Atha and Lenny Rzeszewski. As the program transitioned from NAIA to the NCAA, one last NAIA highlight was Ray Goddard leading the Nation in FT percentage (91.2percent )[6] through the 1961-62 season. Former Head Coaches include the legendary John Wooden, Purdue All-American Dave Schellhase, Indiana training legend Glenn M. Curtis and famous college coaches like Bob King, Royce Waltman, Tates Locke and Ron Greene. Former assistants include present collegiate head coaches such as Thad Matta (Butler, Xavier, Ohio State), Rick Ray (Mississippi State, Southeast Missouri), Kareem Richardson (Missouri-Kansas City), Phil Hopkins (Western Carolina), Mel Garland (IUPUI), Stan Gouard (Indianapolis) and NBA Great Mel Daniels.
The Indiana State Sycamores men’s basketball team play their home games at Hulman Center (10,200) and are trained by Greg Lansing.

Read more:

Leave a Comment